Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Just Announced: Mount Eerie w/ Tara Jane O'Neil and No Kids


Mount Eerie represents the latest evolution of Phil Elverum’s musical vision. Formerly known as The Microphones, Phil changed his project’s name to Mount Eerie while maintaining his subtle, lo-fi, and lyrically dense fuzz-folk aesthetic.

Elverum explained this change in an 2003 interview with Discoder, asserting that “Mount Eerie is a new project. The Microphones was completed, or at least at a good stopping point. I did it because I am ready for new things. I am new.”

As Mount Eerie, Phil is generally sans synthesizers, drums, and the accenting voices of Mirah, The Blow, and fellow K-Records/Anacortes friends. Mount Eerie’s album “Seven New Songs of Mount Eerie” was also the first recording released on Phil’s new label, P.W.Elverum & Sun.

The work of Tara Jane O'Neil has always innately crossed genres and boundaries- like several genies emerging from a single lamp. Every singer wants to be a painter, every guitarist a singer, every songwriter a poet and every producer an alchemist or at least an author. Tjo is skilled at all these things, and for her 5th album she has wielded all of her powers. She has made a song cycle, generous and concise, direct and uncompromised.

No Kids is a Canadian indie pop band. Based in Vancouver, the band was formed by Justin Kellam, Julia Chirka and Nick Krgovich following the departure of Larissa Loyva from their earlier band P:ano.


No comments: